Somatotopic organization among parallel sensory pathways that promote a grooming sequence in Drosophila

The lab of Andrew Seeds and Stefanie Hampel published a new article in eLife: Link: “Somatotopic organization among parallel sensory pathways that promote a grooming sequence in Drosophila”, Katharina Eichler, Stefanie Hampel, Adrián Alejandro-García, Steven A Calle-Schuler, Alexis Santana-Cruz, Lucia Kmecova, Jonathan M Blagburn, Eric D Hoopfer, and Andrew M Seeds. April 19, 2024.

Brain Awareness Week – BAW 2024

Faculty and students from the COBRE Center for Neuroplasticity participated in the Brain Awareness Week program. Over 100 students from three high schools participated in workshops and hands-on activities designed to highlight advances in the field of neuroscience. March 19, 2024. University of Puerto Rico Medical Sciences Campus.

The COBRE UPR Center for Neuroplasticity celebrated its 10th Annual Retreat and Assessment Activity, May 25-26, 2023.

Left to right: John Ramírez, CoopSEI assessment team; Eduardo Nicolau, Interim Executive Director, Molecular Sciences Research Center; Jorge Miranda, COBRE NIEF Director; Irma Román-García, Assistant Director, UPR-MSC Deanship for Research; Jan-Marino Ramírez, COBRE EAC; Edjean Calderón, CoopSEI; José Lemos, COBRE EAC; Mark Miller, COBRE Administrative Core Director; José Lasalde, COBRE Program Director; Walter Silva, COBRE…

New NIH R21 grant at UPR School of Medicine!

The Department of Anatomy & Neurobiology and the Department of Microbiology of the School of Medicine of the Medical Sciences Campus of the University of Puerto Rico are proud to announce that Associate Professors Dr. Demetrio Sierra Mercado and Dr. Filipa Godoy Vitorino, have been awarded an R21 research grant by the National Institutes of…

The COBRE Center for Neuroplasticity co-sponsored the Southeast Regional IDeA Conference in San Juan, PR on November 12 – 14, 2021

Left photo: Speakers in the Neuroscience Session included (left to right): Dr. Andrew Seeds (UPR COBRE Center for Neuroplasticity, Alicen Wilcox (Harding University), and Dr. Jessica Larsen (Clemson University). Dr. Nicolas Bazan (LSU Health Center; screen insert) participated remotely. Dr. Mark Miller (UPR COBRE Center for Neuroplasticiy; rear) co-moderated the session.  Right photo: Dr. José…